A topnotch WordPress.com site

All hail the TripView app! I find myself giving thanks whenever I use the app and I badly needed to use it on Friday evening.

I was dropping a relative home and had to use the notorious Pennant Hills road to get there. Friday evening traffic on Pennant Hills road – enough said! A 15 minute trip turned out to be a 40 minute trip as we sat through four changes at one set of lights in particular. Cars kept filling up the major intersection we had to traverse and it became frustrating.

On reaching the house, another relative suggested I take the train rather than sit through however long it would take to get back and then drive to the city and no doubt be late for a social engagement I was attending.

I checked the trusty TripView app to find I would need two trains to get to the city but I would get there half an hour earlier than anticipated. Needless to say, I took the option.

Prior to the app, I would have been anxiously wondering if I should risk driving through the traffic and if it would get me there on time or whether I would still make it on time if I took the train instead.

Those who have been reading my ‘Gratitude’ posts will recall the Ányone for Coffee’ post in which my girlfriend asked me to have coffee with her. I recall said girlfriend wondering aloud on how we managed before we had mobile/cell phones to contact our friends instantly for an impromptu get-together such as that. Another technological advancement that we can be grateful for!

I give my utmost thanks to the creator of the TripView app!

© Wendy Robinson All rights reserved

Modern technology has become a total phenomenon for civilization, the defining force of a new social order in which efficiency is no longer an option but a necessity imposed on all human activity. ~Jacques Ellul

Disclaimer: The above photos are from the internet. My sincere thanks go to the photographers.

We have been having computer problems so I haven’t had a chance to post for a few days.

Are modern gadgets a blessing or a curse? How do you feel about any in particular?

Comments on: "Day 8 – Modern Technology" (3)

  1. I love technology when it’s working and heaven knows having the advances we have today has made sight loss a little easier to bear. Google is my platform of choice these days since Microsoft charges for their software. It took some getting used to but after years of using Google docs, excel plus Gmail and Google Chrome browser I’m all in — at least for now😉

    Like

    • Ditto to the love of technology! I do however, fear my dependency on my computer and the fact that I miss it when it fails. Like you. I use gmail, Google, Google Chrome et al.
      Please expect an email from me tonight … I’ve been meaning to talk about a project with you for some time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

