A topnotch WordPress.com site

Love’s Gamble

sun-heart-autumn-leaf-39379

A Valentine Day’s Post: This is in special honour of J & A and all those who fear the courtship ritual of making the first move. It took J ten years (yes, you’ve read it correctly) before he plucked up the courage to even ask the beautiful A out.

I personally found it endearing and touching that it took J (who sang bass in the same choir as A) so long to pluck up the courage to ask her on a date.

 

We tend to say less when we need to say more

Talk about the mundane until it starts to bore

All that is hidden, all that’s left unsaid

The latency hides heartache, the fear, the dread

 

The weather then becomes the discussion du jour

Or the latest travel plans where it’s safe and secure

Our hearts in the meantime beat onwards regardless

Hiding unseen heartache and unfathomable stress

 

Do we bite the bullet, say all that’s in the heart

How do we find the strength, when do we start

Perhaps today, maybe tomorrow, or could it be never

One has to make the first move before a line is severed.

 

(C) Wendy Robinson All rights reserved

 

I learned that courage is not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it.

The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid but he who conquers that fear. ~ Nelson Mandela

 

I hope you enjoy Kyle Richard Hudson’s  ‘Lost For Words‘ which compliments this post.

Kyle: I wrote this one about the experience we’ve all had of not being able to articulate the way we feel.

Please express your appreciation of Kyle’s work, either in the comments or on his video or better yet, subscribe to or share his video.

Thank you Kyle for sharing your song with us.

Disclaimer: My thanks go to the anonymous photographer, who has generously shared his/her online photography for gratis.

Comments on: "Love’s Gamble" (11)

  1. It truly is a joy to read your work.

    Like

  2. Beautiful construction Wendy and in rhyme too – I’m afraid I tend towards free verse so a big congratulations on this fine piece – love M

    Like

  3. Someone always has to make the first move! That’s true. I’m still shocked I ever found the courage to ask my wife out. (You will no doubt be amazed to hear she said yes.) 🙂

    Like

    • Not really Bun – if you can make us all laugh, I’m sure you have her in stitches every day. Women appreciate men with a sense of humour.
      I do however feel for men – it must be tough to ask a lady out so kudos to you and to all men who make the first move.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Making the first move can definitely be scary. Meeting the future in-laws for the first time was even scarier, though. Luckily, as the years have passed, I’ve been bothered less and less often by the flashbacks.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Wendy, this is such an awesome post! Though I’m somewhat jaded in the romance department I’m still a romantic at heart. Kyle’s beautiful song works perfectly with the post.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you so very much Steph. It is great to wake up to your compliment. It is making my day. I will pass on your words to Kyle and I appreciate the fact that you agree with me that his lyrics compliments the post. 🎶🌹

    Like

Leave a Reply

