A topnotch WordPress.com site

Answers

Confusion reigns all around

I look but see no sign or sound

Tell me you who knows of such

Where do I turn, who do I trust

 

Speak to me wisdom of the ages

Show me the truth from the many sages

A humble and naive new born am I

Seeking to learn, with an innocent sigh

 

P1010368The how, the wherefore, the why and what

Are being asked with a reasoning start

The who and when is added to the mix

Seeking and searching for the perfect fix

 

The old, the seasoned, the tried and true

They can provide the answers for you

You have to ask with reverence and humility

Or you’ll get no response to petty levity

 

Take time to watch, take time to wait,

If you want to learn of mankind’s fate

Silence, homage and holy persistence

Can open the doors to any resistance

 

Hold yourself with respect and with dignity

Do unto others through love and integrity

Seek the miracle in all that you see

To find peace and joy in your own company

 

(C) Wendy Robinson 2015

The Difference between School and Life:

In school, you are taught a lesson and then given a test.

In life, you are given a test that teaches you a lesson. ~ Tom Bodett

This is the second poem I am posting and do feel a tad nervous about it. I hope you like it and would appreciate your feedback. The photo is also my own and is of a sunset taken from my front verandah.

Comments on: "Answers" (5)

  1. A beautiful and meaningful poem.

    Like

  2. Gerry OConnor said:

    Thanks – a beautiful and meaningful poem.

    Like

  3. Favorite stanza:

    “Speak to me wisdom of the ages

    Show me the truth from the many sages

    A humble and naive new born am I

    Seeking to learn, with an innocent sigh”

    And of course the last line just perfection.

    Loved.

    Like

  4. Beautiful poetry here Wendy

    Like

    • Hi Scott,
      Thank you so much for your encouragement as I have to confess, I only started writing poems last year. I bit the bullet and published my first one in November and was amazed at the number of people who visited. The numbers chalked up but not many left comments which almost put me off. Thank you for following me as well. I’m off to visit your site further as I have this afternoon to myself.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

