A topnotch WordPress.com site

Daybreak

The silence, calming and serene

The heartbeat imperceptible

The light bathing the landscape

In a soft, caressing glow

 

Standing in the midst of this scenePoemDayBreak

In rosy awakening stillness

A shiver of expectation

Capturing the soul in its embrace

 

Hush! Do not break the spell

Watch the magic unfold

Hark! See the day break

Resplendent in its glory

 

The colours in pastel hues

Like petals unfolding

Set the sky ablaze in

Startling bright profusion

 

In the stillness a rustle

And then the thrilling sound

Of a bird heralding his greeting

to the awakening dawn

(c) Wendy Robinson 2014

Do not the most moving moments of our lives find us all without words. ~ Marcel Marceau

I have written a number of poems but this is my first venture into publishing one of them. I would appreciate your feedback or comment.

I am delighted to say that I was fortunate enough to photograph the lone bird on a branch outside my window.

Comments on: "Daybreak" (6)

  1. Gerry OConnor said:

    Thank you Wendy – this is beautiful.

    Like

  2. Wow! This really “took me there.”

    The colours in pastel hues

    Like petals unfolding

    Set the sky ablaze in

    Startling bright profusion

    That was my favorite stanza. So melodic and such vivid imagery. You must publish more, Wendy!

    Like

  3. This is fantastic, Wendy, I love it! You took me there and I never wanted to leave. Please keep writing – I didn’t realise until that note at the end that you haven’t been writing like this all of your life.

    When I was quite young I met Marcel Marceau here in Melbourne, it is one of my most treasured memories. Every word in this post, it is all so perfectly brilliant. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

