A topnotch WordPress.com site

I LOVE quotes …

I LOVE quotes and I collect and record them. I’m actually almost finishing my seventh book of random quotes.

Random? Yes, but I’m proud to say they are recorded neatly, leaving a gap of two lines between each quote, and using only black pens. Yes, siree!! Black pens!

I know I sound obsessive but my careful scribing hopefully denotes how much I delight in my collection; how moved I am when I read something profound, or how it tickles my funny bone at reading the sarcastic, rapier-wit musings of Mark Twain or Oscar Wilde.

One would expect to enjoy the witty, at times, off-the-cuff  quips of these renowned writers, but would one necessarily expect deep, thoughtful and meaningful remarks from a genius mathematician like Einstein, or the iconic, Rastafarian, reggae singer, Bob Marley?

You’ll be surprised or you may not, at the insightful and oft-times, philosophical observations of the aforementioned men. I’m so enamoured with Einstein’s reflections, I’m sure, shhh … I’ve fallen for the genius. If I had to pick a quote, and there are soooo many, wonderful ones from the great man, it would be this:

The ideals which have lighted my way and time after time have given me new courage to face life cheerfully, have been kindness, beauty and truth.  ~ Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

And not to be outdone, one from that body and soul-moving, Nesta Robert ‘Bob’ Marley:

You never know how strong you are, until being strong is your only choice.  ~ Bob Marley (1945-1981)

Perhaps I’m being obtuse but I doubt very much that many would expect insightful and at times, almost poetic observations from any, dry, mad-looking scientist like Einstein. Formulas yes, but beautiful truths, not on your cotton-pickin Nellie!

Perhaps it’s the hair!! It has to be!! Einstein with his electrified, unkempt and uncut image, or the dread-locks under the rasta, tri-coloured beanie of the smiling, Jamaican. Hmmm… perhaps not!!

I wanted to finish with a meaningful, heart-catching, soul-grabbing, up-lifting quote but there are too many to choose from, so I’ll merely end with this encouragement:

You are not too small to be effective. Just ask a mosquito in a dark room.  ~ Anon

© 2013 Wendy Robinson

Comments on: "I LOVE quotes …" (4)

  1. I love quotes too! thanks for sharing and I will be sure to log in for a squizz 🙂 Christina

    Like

  2. Al Capone once said, “You can get more with a gun and a kind word, than a kind word alone”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

